Raising Rock Stars Preschool ~ Letter S

~ Melody is 4 years old 2 weeks~
~ Emily is 22 months ~

preschool cornerTot School

Below are only some of the things we do for school. I’m not able to capture too many photos when we’re out and about since I only have so many hands. Don’t know how you moms with more kids than arms do it! The main program we’re following is Raising Rock Stars with Carisa at 1+1+1=1. Using that format to teach the letters, I use Erica at Confessions of a Homeschooler‘s Letter of the Week curriculum. Melody also loves workbooks, so we end up doing a lot of that too. You can read more about how MELODY’S ADVENTURES all started.

The beginning of the week was busy so we’re actually not done for the week, but I will update when we get through everything. 🙂

RAISING ROCK STARS

The Board – Melody read the verse by herself before we even got started.

Getting Ready for S – She made the wiggly lines into snakes. :p

Coloring Page – She still colors a lot of things in rainbow colors, but she is also recognizing that some things are certain colors. (Like grass is green (unless you don’t water it then it’s just dried up) and the sky is blue (unless a storm is coming))

LETTER OF THE WEEK

Do a Dot S – Emily loves to use all 5 of the dotters that we have to do this. It helps her to learn her colors.

Do a Dot Snowman – I wish we had the basic color dotters, but my sister bought these for the girls.

Leapfrog S – Emily playing the alphabet song.

OTHER FUN STUFF

Lunch Playdate – Well, I guess this was the end of the playdate because the kids were ready for naps and the moms needed clean up a bit before leaving. We got together with the other moms/kids from my MOPS group, so there were 20 of us running around our discussion leader’s house. Fun.

Writing – This was a hand-me-down (one of many many many) from my cousin’s daughter. The girls usually use this for drawing, but Melody finally figured out that you’re supposed to practice writing the words. The words are in lowercase, but she writes them in uppercase because that’s what she knows. :p

US Map Puzzle – Melody put together this puzzle all by herself. This was my puzzle from when my siblings and I were little. The reverse side is the world map (which needs to be updated) which is trickier because the pieces are in the shape of the states.

Crafts – We finally had no plans on Saturday and went to Lakeshore for the free craft time. It was a special day “All About Animals”. I’ll post more later.

DIY Wooden Block Puzzle – I made these in MOPS last week. They girls are having a lot of fun with them. Sorry for the bad photos. Click on the link to see how I made them. That was fun too.

Warriors vs. Timberwolves – We went to the girls’ first basketball game on Sunday. It was pouring rain when we were going there. 1) Melody disliked the players’ intro because it was dark and loud. 2) Melody liked the dancers the best because she likes dancing.

3) My BIL and sis with Melody 4) Hubby and I with Emily

5) Part of the halftime show 6) The game

7) They lasted pretty long, but got bored around the end of the 3rd quarter. 8 ) We went with some of my siblings and hubby’s bro and gf

SISTERS

Pom Pom Color Sort – Melody was teaching Emily the colors and how to sort the pom poms.

TOT

Baby – She is going to be 2 years old in May!! How did this happen?

Basketball – Souvenir from the basketball game that we attended.

Book:
DVD:
Songs:

Click on links for more:

~Raising Rock Stars Preschool at 1+1+1=1 with Carisa
~Preschool Corner at Homeschool Creations with Jolante
~Tot School at 1+1+1=1 with Carisa
~Letter of the Week Curriculum at Confessions of a Homeschooler with Erica

MY RAMBLING

This entry was posted in Letter of the Week, Preschool Corner, Raising Rock Stars Preschool. Bookmark the permalink.

1 Response to Raising Rock Stars Preschool ~ Letter S

  1. Erin says:

    Looks like a great week!!

    I love that she turned wiggly lines into snakes – that is totally something my son would do! It’s so great to grow up with an active imagination!!

    And I love the pictures of your girls learning together (or teaching one another!). So Sweet!

Leave a comment