Raising Rock Stars Preschool ~ Letter U

~ Melody is 4 years old ~
~ Emily is 21 months and 1 week old ~

preschool cornerTot School

Below are only some of the things we do for school. I’m not able to capture too many photos when we’re out and about since I only have so many hands. The main program we’re following is Raising Rock Stars with Carisa at 1+1+1=1. Using that format to teach the letters, I use Erica at Confessions of a Homeschooler‘s Letter of the Week curriculum. Melody also loves workbooks, so we end up doing a lot of that too. You can read more about how MELODY’S ADVENTURES all started.

Our weekly review of school (aka my ramblings) will now be at the end of the post.

ROCKSTARS

I just really need a new camera. Hubby’s point-and-shoot is too chunky, and I don’t want to carry around a dSLR with me.

Color by Numbers

Key cards – Melody was so happy to get back to doing RRSP. Even before I sat down with her, she started reading the Bible verse on the board.

LETTER OF THE WEEK

Sorting U – Melody asked why there aren’t too many uppercase U’s when we were sorting. Not too many words start with the letter U I guess.

Color by Numbers Umbrella – If we were to head outdoors this week, we would have had to use one of these. It’s supposed to rain some more too. And I hear, snow is supposed to fall in SF tomorrow.

Utah – Melody usually only go as far as tracing the letters for the states, but this time she actually wrote the letters UTAH after she finished tracing!

OTHER FUN STUFF

Uncle Aaron – My BIL Aaron is one of Melody’s favorite people in the whole world, so she was very proud of herself for learning to spell his name.

Puzzles – Melody is on a puzzle kick lately, and even got out this 500-piece puzzle. It was a bit complicated, but hubby and I finished it on our date night. (Romantic, right? =p I wasn’t feel great to go out that night.) I got a pic of it before Melody puked on it the next morning. The biggest puzzle she’s completed by herself was 100 pieces. And then I got another one for her from the freebie table at MOPS on Tuesday…like we don’t have enough already.

My Little Pony – This is a Pony set, but some Disney characters came to play. =p Sorry for the pic quality, I forgot to edit before uploading.

Hearts – Another thing Melody is into lately is drawing hearts. The last few weeks I have been drawing outline pictures on the easel, and the girls fill it in with whatever they want. I drew this car/road, and Melody added a bunch of heart balloons.

LIFE

Housewarming = Family Reunion – Lots of fun with cousins, and visiting with my 104-year-old granny. Playing tag and hide-and-seek, and even some karaoke.

Book: Meet Kai-Lan! by Mickie Matheis
DVD: Signing Time: My Things (signs learned: Clean Up, Room, Make The Bed, Shoes, Toys, Books, Blocks, Coat, Mittens, Hat, Socks, Closet)
Song: Fly to Your Heart

Click on links for more:
~Raising Rock Stars Preschool at 1+1+1=1 with Carisa
~Preschool Corner at Homeschool Creations with Jolante
~Tot School at 1+1+1=1 with Carisa
~Letter of the Week Curriculum at Confessions of a Homeschooler with Erica

MY RAMBLING

We visited the preschool that we were thinking to send Melody to, but now my thoughts are everywhere. I love that Melody is getting quite social these days, but I notice that other children’s behaviors (the not-so-good behaviors) are rubbing off on her. =( I don’t want to dwell on that too much though. Melody is super duper into reading right now. When she wakes up before I do, I always find her reading her books. She is reading every and any sign she sees. She wants to read my blogs. =p haha

This entry was posted in Letter of the Week, Preschool Corner, Raising Rock Stars Preschool. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Raising Rock Stars Preschool ~ Letter U

  1. sarahssweeties says:

    Looks like a lot of fun!

  2. cathy says:

    Wow! Great letter U ideas. I love the letter U sorting idea.

    I host a feature on my blog called the Ultimate Alphabet Craft Collection. If you are interested, I would love for you to link up your blog to our collection. I think it would really inspire others! You can view the collection here: http://theattachedmama.blogspot.com/2010/07/ultimate-alphabet-craft-collection.html

    Your fan,
    Cathy aka The Attached Mama

Leave a Reply

