Raising Rock Stars Preschool ~ Letter J

~ Melody is 3 years and 11 months old ~
~ Emily is 20 months and 3 week old ~

preschool cornerTot School

Below are only some of the things we do for school. I’m not able to capture too many photos when we’re out and about since I only have so many hands. Don’t know how you moms with more kids than arms do it! The main program we’re following is Raising Rock Stars with Carisa at 1+1+1=1. Using that format to teach the letters, I use Erica at Confessions of a Homeschooler‘s Letter of the Week curriculum. Melody also loves workbooks, so we end up doing a lot of that too. You can read more about how MELODY’S ADVENTURES all started.

Our weekly review of school will now be at the end of the post.

ROCKSTARS

The Board – Oops, I forgot to print out another copy of the key cards for the board.

Getting Ready for J – Melody really enjoyed doing J this week because it’s the first letter of my name.

Cut and Tape – Melody is enjoying this a little more now that she is getting how to get the tape out of the dispenser by herself.

Tracing J

Coloring Craft – She liked to knock on the “door”. =p

TOT’S LETTER OF THE WEEK

Most of these activities are done by Tot Emily now so I’m relabeling it.

J is for Jesus from COAH – We are actually still singing the girls’ favorite Christmas song, so this is perfect. Emily keeps saying “Baby” when she sees baby Jesus.

Cutting Practice – This is what Emily did when I asked her, “How do you use scissors?” We’ll be working on that. =p I held her hand to cut the lines, and then she folded the paper after drawing lines and circles on them.

OTHER FUN STUFF

Calendar – We moved to the kitchen dining area to do the calendar this day because Emily woke up a little late and Melody wanted to start on her school stuff. So we did that while Emily ate her breakfast (off a pie pan :p hehe)

Storytime – Emily had a super runny nose so we stayed home from Wednesday storytime, and did our own instead. Our theme was dogs. It was very random, but the girls loved it.

MELODY AND THE LETTER J Powerpoint Slideshow

LIFE

A Visit from Grandma – My BIL’s mom was watching my nephew for the day so my mom came over to visit us. Melody loves doing Hidden Pictures with Po-Po (grandma in Chinese).

Cleaning – This is how you know they’re my girls – they LOVE to clean!! Seriously.

SISTERS

Monopoly – I was so surprised but the girls actually sat down to play this game, going around the board twice. Melody wanted to buy every single property she landed on, and Emily didn’t want to buy anything. =p

TOT

Hairstyle – I don’t think Emily was amused by my putting up her hair in this style. haha

My Little Pony – Seriously, Emily’s favorite thing this week! One of my sister’s former students’ mom gave us a TON of her girls’ toys. This My Little Pony set came with 25 ponies!!! We also got 2 huge floor puzzles, some other puzzles, some books, the 4 chairs that the girls were sitting on with my mom in the photo above, and a bunch of other stuff. Not just once, but in the last 2 years too. She is so thoughtful.

Book: My First Chinese New Year
DVD: Little Einsteins: The Christmas Wish
Songs: One Way from Hillsong Kids and John 14:6 from GT and the Halo Express

Click on links for more:
~Raising Rock Stars Preschool at 1+1+1=1 with Carisa
~Preschool Corner at Homeschool Creations with Jolante
~Tot School at 1+1+1=1 with Carisa
~Letter of the Week Curriculum at Confessions of a Homeschooler with Erica

MY RAMBLING

I can’t believe that January is already over. It has been so much more fun doing school now that I have Emily doing a few Letter of the Week stuff. She really likes it. I don’t even know what to do with Melody after RRSP is finished. What’s next, Carisa? 😉 Another thing that we added to our day, which I didn’t get a photo of, is Show and Tell. It is so fun, and now I have to bring something to show and tell too. :p Melody has also been interested in “curvy letters” aka cursive, so we’ll see what happens after we work through the lowercase letters. We are a bit behind on doing our slideshow mainly because of my broken camera.

We have been discussing preschool options, and there are a lot out there. I don’t even know where to begin. We are deciding between a 3 days/week half day preschool which has gotten raving reviews from everyone who goes there (parents line up at 4:30am to register!), but it’s looking unlikely we’ll get in considering we’ll be 3rd priority after current students and then anyone serving/involved in their church, for only 28 spots total. Another one that has been suggested is Classical Conversations. It sounds like it would be perfect for Melody, but I’m not sure of all the details of it. I definitely don’t want to pressure her with anything, but I also don’t want to hold her back from her potential. I’m pretty sure she wouldn’t mind just being home with me, but I would definitely need to step up my game to help her grow. Anyhow, these are just some random thoughts. Thanks for listening/reading.

This entry was posted in Letter of the Week, Preschool Corner, Raising Rock Stars Preschool. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Raising Rock Stars Preschool ~ Letter J

  1. Kerri says:

    How fabulous that you improvised and made the story time in your own home for the day! Kerri

Leave a Reply

