Intro to Melody’s Adventures

Having worked as a Pre-K teacher for some time, and a natural documenter (is that even a word?) and list maker, another blog is just what I need to record all of Melody’s adventures. This blog is all about Keeping Up With Melody and what’s she is up to. Recently, she’s been doing “school”…..so here’s a little intro of what’s happening around here.

Three weeks ago, I started doing Raising Rock Star Preschool, which Carisa from 1+1+1=1 started, and Melody is loving it. She had been asking to “do school” for the longest time (I know! nerd like her mom), so we’ve been doing RRSP along with the Letter of the Week stuff from Confessions of a Homeschooler. So as we’re into the 4th week, I have gotten a pretty good picture of what is too easy for Melody, what she can do well, and what she needs to work on.

For the past 3 weeks, I have been hearing this every morning from the moment Melody wakes us: “Mommy, I want to do school right now.” or “Mommy, can we do school?” And don’t ask what happens if we should have something else to do and postpone school until later.

So, what I have found what works for us is doing RRSP in the morning after breakfast and finishing our morning jobs (except for dressing, as you will later notice in some of our photos, we usually end up doing that when we go out afterwards). It takes about 20 minutes to a half hour depending on how many times Emily interrupts. =p Emily actually loves to come over and sit for all the songs and stories. Then she does her own things.

After naptime, while Emily has a snack, Melody does some work for Letter of the Week. Then, while Melody snacks, I do some stuff with Emily. Right now, it’s just random stuff, but I feel like she does better when she has specific toys set out instead of having a smorgasbord of things to choose from. But this past week, Emily has been really interested in books, and can just sit there reading all the books from the bookcase. Back to Melody…..

Melody has always loved to do worksheets, so we picked up a few from Dollar Tree and Target’s Dollar Spot. Two things that Melody has really been enjoying is using the camera and making powerpoint slideshows, with my help, and learning a little bit of sign language. And one more thing that she is really into is learning the states, so I’m trying to incorporate that in there too. Wait, I forgot that we’re also trying to work with her on some basic Chinese words. Yeah…that should be all. =p

Now, several people have asked me if I am going to homeschool. Right now, the answer is no. I don’t feel that God has been calling me to do this, and honestly, I do need time away from the kiddos one day to figure out what I want to be when I grow up. Maybe later on, it might be a possibility. Who knows what’s up His sleeve? Does He have sleeves? I don’t know. Anyhow, I’m sure that is surprising to those who ask me because it sure seems like I would and could.

Stay tuned to see what adventures Melody will have….and I use the word “adventure” very loosely.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

15 Responses to Intro to Melody’s Adventures

  1. Shannon says:

    she’s a cutie! thanks for sharing your RRSP posts. I’ve just started with my 3 yo so I’m checking out how it’s going for other mommies.

  2. Pingback: Raising Rock Stars Preschool ~ Letter M | Keeping Up With Melody

  3. Pingback: Raising Rock Stars Preschool ~ Letter W | Keeping Up With Melody

  4. Pingback: Raising Rock Stars Preschool ~ Letter P | Keeping Up With Melody

  5. Pingback: Raising Rock Stars Preschool ~ Letter B | Keeping Up With Melody

  6. Pingback: Raising Rock Stars Preschool ~ Letter D | Keeping Up With Melody

  7. Pingback: Raising Rock Stars Preschool ~ Letter R | Keeping Up With Melody

  8. Pingback: Raising Rock Stars Preschool ~ Letter J | Keeping Up With Melody

  9. Pingback: Raising Rock Stars Preschool ~ Review | Keeping Up With Melody

  10. Pingback: Raising Rock Stars Preschool ~ Letter U | Keeping Up With Melody

  11. Pingback: Raising Rock Stars Preschool ~ Letter C | Keeping Up With Melody

  12. Pingback: Raising Rock Stars Preschool ~ Letter G | Keeping Up With Melody

  13. Pingback: Raising Rock Stars Preschool ~ Letter S | Keeping Up With Melody

  14. Pingback: Raising Rock Stars Preschool ~ Letter S (still) | Keeping Up With Melody

  15. Pingback: Raising Rock Stars Preschool ~ Letter O | Keeping Up With Melody

Leave a Reply

